the first of many muffins to come…

Muffins have a soft spot in my heart (and stomach). Healthy, covered with icing as a cupcake, veggie-filled — it doesn’t matter. An individual cake, just for me, in a special little wrapper package? Perfect.
This is one I make quite often. The recipe is basic and fast and, with some of my modifications, I never feel guilty about eating more than one (which happens every time I sit down to eat one). It’s also great because, with a longer cooking time, it can be converted into a loaf of banana bread. Double yum.

This recipe has been adapted from one I found awhile back from The Fresh Loaf. I have changed a few things from the original: I use applesauce in place of some of the butter, and I substitute half of the flour with whole wheat flour for added texture (and to be healthy). I also sprinkle oats on the top of my muffins, just for a little cute touch.

-a

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Banana Nut Muffins

• 1/2 cup applesauce (plain or cinnamon)
• 1 T butter, softened
• 2 eggs, room temperature
• 2 or 3 ripe bananas
• 1/2 – 2/3 cup sugar (depending how sweet you like your bread)
• 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
• 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
• 3/4 t salt
• 1/2 t baking soda
• 1/4 t baking powder
• 1/2 t cinnamon
• 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (or, your favorite nuts – maybe even chocolate chips!)
** optional: a pinch of additional spices, like nutmeg or cloves

– Preheat oven to 350°. Spray muffin tins with cooking spray or line them with paper muffin cups.
– In a large bowl, combine applesauce through sugar. Mash with a fork. Leaving lumps of bananas is a good thing!
– In a medium-sized bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients.
– Add the dry mix to the banana mix. Stir in walnuts. Spoon mix evenly into muffin tin.

fill the muffin cups almost all the way up with batter

– Bake for about 20 minutes (depending on your oven), or until a toothpick comes out clean.
Note: Make sure not to over-bake these. With the whole wheat flour in there, it’s easy to get a tough and dry muffin with over-baking.

I broke into one so fast I almost forgot to take a picture...

Leave a Comment

