spice girl

Scary, Baby, Ginger, Sporty, Posh.

My first concert ever was to see The Spice Girls. In middle school. With my dad.

And he put purple highlights in his hair to match mine. Greatest dad?

My friends and I were so obsessed with the Spice Girls we all bought platform shoes (that resulted in no ankle injuries, oddly enough) and planned on going as the group for Halloween one year. I was assigned the role of Posh Spice who, as you could probably guess, is a spitting image of myself: black hair, olive skin, 5’3″, British…

Not the best fit. Some things were never meant to be, I guess.

So maybe the Spice Girls didn’t stick with me, although I do sing a mean “zigga-zig-aahhh,” but another form of spice did: molasses spice cookies.

(Lame segue?)

I make these all the time. Really, all the time. I have a tupperware container filled with them at any given moment. Good source of iron from the molasses, I tell myself. It’s probably their fine coffee-dunking ability… (Dunkability?)

I haven’t settled on one particular recipe for molasses spice cookies yet. For awhile I was making one from an old Gourmet magazine, then a Barefoot Contessa creation, and now this one from the food blog 101 Cookbooks. It may look like a lot of ginger but don’t worry, they aren’t overly spicy. Kind of gingersnap-like. I modified the recipe a bit — technically these are only “double ginger cookies” since I left out the crystallized ginger, no lemon zest, and substituted half the butter for canola oil.

Still plenty good, though, as the tupperware is currently empty.

The yield for this recipe (or any cookie recipe, really) depends on how big you scoop your cookies. I have a mini ice cream scooper that gives me tablespoon-sized cookies that I like to use. You could make these bite-sized if you split a tablespoon of dough in half, or make them jumbo by making them two tablespoons.

I like to make sure the cookies will fit within the rim of my coffee cup. Just saying.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Molasses Ginger Spice Cookies

(adapted from 101 Cookbooks)

• 2 c whole wheat or spelt flour

• 1 t baking soda

• 4 1/2 t ground ginger

• 1/2 t salt

• 1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature

• 1/4 c molasses

• 2/3 c sugar

• 1 1/2 T fresh ginger, finely grated

• 1 egg, beaten

• large-grained sugar (such as turbinado or “Sugar In The Raw”), for dusting

- Preheat oven to 350°. Line your baking sheets with parchment paper or a Silpat mat. Pour turbinado sugar into a bowl and set aside.

- In a large bowl, prepare dry ingredients: mix together flour, baking soda, ground ginger and salt.

- In a small saucepan heat butter until just melted over medium-low heat. Add molasses, sugar, and fresh ginger. Take mixture off the heat to allow to cool down a little. When mixture is no longer hot, whisk in the egg.

- Pour molasses mix over dry mix and stir until just combined. Form cookies into desirable size and roll in turbinado sugar.

- Bake for 7-10 minutes, or until cookie tops start to crackle.

** Optional: walnuts. I was going to use them (as shown in the pictures) but forgot all about it. Smush one walnut half in the top of each cookie before baking and it will get toasty as the cookies bake. It’s a nice crunch.

4 Comments on “spice girl”

  1. Patty Ruane says:

    Just finished making them. Very easy and delicious! They have a nice kick of heat from the fresh ginger. Would be curious to try with the crystalized ginger. When I was growing up in the 50′s my neighbor’s mother used to make a similar cookie but instead of rolling in sugar she frosted them with a white transparent glaze that would harden a little after setting so that when you bit into them the frosting would provide a little crackle crunch to the soft cookie. Might try icing them the next time with confectioners sugar and milk with a little vanilla mixed in. Have you ever had a cookie like that? One of my fondest childhood memories that I’ve been searching for ever since.

    • allisoncooks says:

      I saw a recipe once for a cookie similar to that but with a lemon twist — some kind of buttery cookie (more moist than shortbead) with lemon zest running through it and then you dip the whole thing in a lemony glaze that hardens/cracks when bitten. Next time I have a party or potluck to go to, I’m bringing them! They look too good to have just one — dangerous!

      So glad you made the cookies and that they turned out well! :)

  2. Patty Ruane says:

    Yum! Have all the ingredients (even the turbinado sugar) and can’t wait to make them…maybe today!


Leave a Comment

